Drinkin’ champagne on a choo-choo train

The train chug-a-chugs and so do I

Robots ‘n doughnuts July 21, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sarah @ 3:51 pm
Tags:

Scott and I were invited to go see The Dark Knight with a group of people from work on Friday night. We kept changing our minds as to whether we wanted to go – we both want to see it, but going to see a movie on opening night sucks because of the crowds, and they wanted to go bar-hopping or something first, and it was a 10:30 showing and neither of us were sure we’d be able to stay awake since we’re grumpy old folks, so we decided against it. Once we got home, though, we still wanted to go out and do something, so we went to see Wall-E. It was really cute (and more importantly, there were only about 7 other people in the theater). I think we’re going to try to go to The Dark Knight some night this week, though; I want to see it before the Internet ruins it for me. I haven’t seen any spoilers yet but people keep vaguely alluding to things that happen and it’s getting irritating. I had to suffer through countless puzzling references to milkshakes before I finally saw There Will Be Blood and I don’t want that to happen again (although, speaking of There Will Be Blood, we were thinking of throwing a party themed around that movie. Steaks, milkshakes, and Wii bowling).

On Saturday we drove down to a fruit stand in northern Kentucky and bought some locally grown peaches, which are probably going to find their way into a pie in the near future, and some apples and potatoes, and on Sunday morning I made doughnut muffins. I know, I know. I don’t like doughnuts. But I accidentally let the existence of this recipe be known to Scott and he wanted them, and I figured it was un-doughnuty enough for me to try. Thoughts: they taste pretty good (how could they not when the ingredients list is pretty much sugar, fat, fat, eggs, fat, sugar, fat) but man, they’re rich. I will not be making these very often. Also, although the recipe says to fill the cups up to the rim, and the recipe makes enough batter to do this, don’t. We used individual silicone muffin cups on a cookie sheet instead of a muffin pan, so maybe that made a difference, but it resulted in twelve muffins and a bunch of crunchy muffin overflow debris lying in between them. Although then again, that made for good snacking while I rolled the muffin tops in the coating, so yeah, go ahead and do it.

 

One Response to “Robots ‘n doughnuts”

  1. Sandy Says:

    Looks like Dad will have to stop at the store after work and pick up some fat, sugar, fat, eggs, fat and more fat. Can’t wait!


Leave a Reply

