Drinkin’ champagne on a choo-choo train

The train chug-a-chugs and so do I

July 5, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sarah @ 4:53 pm

Scott and I just got back from Aglamesis Bros. after an ice cream craving hit. I had never been there before, but I really liked it. It’s been open since 1913 and still looks charmingly old-timey (there are some good pictures here if you’re interested, though I don’t know that person), and everyone working there was very friendly. Our server informed us that there was a flavor available called Pineapple Pecan that was apparently the most popular flavor back in 1940-something. I didn’t end up getting it (my first reaction, similar to yours I’m sure, was GAAAHH), but my curiosity got the better of me before we left and I got a little container to take home. I tried a spoonful when we got back, and it’s surprisingly good. It actually reminds me of the sweet potatoes that I make on Thanksgiving with brandy, pineapple, and walnuts. That probably isn’t helping my case any, but eh. The woman waiting in line after me as we checked out informed me that sprinkling cinnamon sugar on top makes it taste like pineapple upside-down cake, so I think I may have to try that next.

 

Leave a Reply

