Drinkin’ champagne on a choo-choo train

The train chug-a-chugs and so do I

May 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sarah @ 10:08 am

Scott and I drove down to Atlanta last weekend for a wedding. We weren’t there for very long (drove down Saturday and back on Monday) but we had a good time. We got to see Scott’s brother and sister and went to a few good restaurants, and the wedding was really nice. We went to a farmer’s market at one point and the fish section, MY GOD. I’ve never seen a selection like that and it was all really cheap. I know it’s my own fault for only ever living in landlocked states, but I was so jealous. I meant to get boiled peanuts at some point before we left, but we didn’t see any places that had them on the way out of Georgia. I’ve made them at home before, but I’ve never had the “authentic” kind, so I wanted to compare. That, and Scott won’t eat them, so it’s a waste to make a big batch of them at a time. I had to settle for deep fried peanuts, which tasted good, but ow, my arteries. We also stopped at a roadside stand and got a bottle of peach cider, which was really good, and a jar of moonshine jelly, which… wasn’t. I think it might be good if I use it in a glaze for a pork roast or something, but I won’t be putting it on my toast.

The drive was surprisingly painless, only about 7 hours each way (we didn’t have to drive around downtown that much, fortunately), I-75 goes straight from Cincinnati to Atlanta, and the scenery in Kentucky and Tennessee was beautiful. I think we’re going to try to go down there again later this year (preferably with a huge cooler).

 

One Response to “”

  1. monica Says:

    I’m glad you had fun..boiled peanuts are ick…you may have georgia and all its things..love, your landlocked aunt..and loving it!!


Leave a Reply

