Drinkin’ champagne on a choo-choo train

The train chug-a-chugs and so do I

¡Caliente! April 30, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sarah @ 2:24 pm

I made my entry for the Iron Chef contest last night: White Chocolate Ancho Chile Ice Cream. I followed the recipe (although I added an extra teaspoon of cayenne pepper) and it turned out all right, but it doesn’t taste very chocolatey. The cinnamon and cloves gave it a faint gingerbread taste, which I liked, and they worked well with the spiciness of the peppers. I think if I make it again, I’m going to use dark or milk chocolate and more cinnamon.

I bring it in on Friday, so we’ll see what happens. I don’t really think I’ll win, since I think chile-flavored ice cream is going to be too weird for people here to deal with. But hey, if nothing else, I get the personal satisfaction of making my coworkers eat something weird. And at the end of the day, that’s what really counts.

The recipe made a quart of ice cream, so I’ll try to remember to take a picture when I get home.

 

5 Responses to “¡Caliente!”

  1. Terry Says:

    I think your recipe sounds like a winner. Ask Kit, people at work always turn their noses up at gourmet food. But I bet if you left a quart of this ice cream alone in a cubicle with a spoon, it would be gone!! Good Luck and as they say on the show Allez Cuisine!!

  2. Emily Says:

    Sounds good to me. I’ve also been eating a lot of ice cream lately…

  3. Kit Says:

    Two words for people at work..MONKEY BREAD.

  4. monica Says:

    YUM! right on Terry..then they will say the entire time i shouldn’t be eating this,, oh i’ll skip supper tonite rock on Sarah!


Leave a Reply

