Drinkin’ champagne on a choo-choo train

The train chug-a-chugs and so do I

Repeat my mantra! Hammmmmmmm…… March 24, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sarah @ 9:55 am

Happy belated Easter, everybody! Sorry I haven’t updated in a while, but I was busy doing a lot of cooking over the weekend. I had a bunch of uncooked cabbage left over from St. Patrick’s Day, so I decided to make Runzas for dinner. They didn’t look too pretty (I rolled the dough a little too thin so they’re all lumpy on the top) but they tasted good. I don’t remember the last time I had had one. I froze a bunch of the leftover ones and am going to have one for lunch today, too. Then I made poppy seed bread for Easter, which I didn’t get a picture of either, but you can just pretend that I took this one.

We had the bread with ham, beet relish, and eggs yesterday morning.

Scott went outside and worked on the garden in the afternoon to start getting it ready to plant stuff. Our strawberry plant magically survived through the winter and actually looks like it’s doing really well, so he moved that into a strawberry pot and put some new soil down. I don’t know what we’re going to grow yet other than garlic and rhubarb, both of which turned out well last year. Any suggestions?

While he was out there, I started to get antsy and decided to clean out the fridge, so I made olive bread with some old olives and tapenade, and later Scott made risotto for dinner with some leftover stir-fried vegetables. Which, I guess, didn’t really clean out the fridge because now we have leftover bread and risotto, but oh well.

Oh, and here is the source of my subject line. Enjoy your nightmares!

 

6 Responses to “Repeat my mantra! Hammmmmmmm……”

  1. Emily Says:

    One of those drag queens looks a lot like Sandra Lee from Semi Homemade. Anyone else think so? Just me?

  2. winterssss Says:

    I had to look her up (I’ve never seen that show) but yeah, I can see it.

  3. Monica Says:

    What the…..i was absolutely craving poppy seed bread..my easter was lacking because of it..i also adore apricot bread and promised myself i would make it next year. i made some last year. my runzas usually turn out thin too..keep trying

  4. Terry Says:

    Repeat My Mantr…………Yikes!! That was scary indeed. On a less scary subject, I also made poppy seed bread for Easter and it was lovely. I have a loaf in my freezer. I also made some apricot bread, Monica. It was a hit!! I had some leftover dough that was fashioned into some cinnamon rolls that Mom, Matt, Diane and I enjoyed after Easter vigil on Saturday eve. Happy post Easter to all!!

  5. sandy Says:

    The first time I made runzas, they were huge and had the “covered wagon” gap between the top crust and the filling. Hmm, not unlike my poppy seed bread. Have fun cooking.

  6. Monica Says:

    funny emily..i see it!!


Leave a Reply

